HomeSportsReal Madrid vs Elche Tonight: Copa Del Rey Match Preview

Real Madrid vs Elche Tonight: Copa Del Rey Match Preview

Real Madrid is prepared to play against Elche FC in the Round of 16 of the Copa Del Ray, who are ranked 15th on La Liga table. It has only been four days since their solid victory against Athletico Club in the final of the Spanish Supercup.

 

Real Madrid are in superb form lately.

Another Potential Trophy For Ancelotti’s Men?

Real Madrid have been in outstanding touch recently. Their defence is seen to be very efficient, while their forwards are scoring blazingly. Having scored 45 goals in 21 games, they have conceded only 18 times in all competitions.

Elche FC have won their past two games against Espanyol and Villarel respectively. So it is expected of them to come against the Los Blancos with sheer confidence. Elche have an unsteady defence line as they have conceded 28 times in 21 appearances. Fran Escriba’s squad would have to work tediously to defeat Real Madrid’s spotless game.

Ancelotti has left out his ace striker Karim Benzema from the squad, who has been responsible for most of their goals and assists. Also, their goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois has exempted from the squad, who was a key part of their success on Sunday.

We see the return of Gareth Bale, who had a marvellous season with Tottenham. It will be interesting to see how Don Carlo uses his pace and skills.

Eder Militao will be out for the game, having received a red card in the final of the Spanish SuperCup. As per the rules, he will face his punishment against Elche. This could be a big loss for Real as he, along with David Alaba have been nothing, but exceptional for them. Their chemistry has really helped the team become strong from the base. Nacho or Jesus Vallejo will receive an opportunity on his behalf.

What time is the match?

This Thursday’s match between Elche and Real Madrid kicks off at 19:00 CET, the local time. For those living in the USA, you can tune in at 13:00 ET / 10:00 PT, and for those in the UK you can tune in at 18:00 GMT and 23:30 IST in India.

Hazard’s Future At Real Madrid

Hazard has not yet lived up to his reputation.

Eden Hazard has been included in the squad against Eleche, but his future at Real could be doubtful. He hasn’t had a very good season, or a very good transfer to Real Madrid rather. Since moving from Chelsea for €100 Million, he has only scored 5 goals and 10 assists in 59 games for the whites and has been out from injury most season.

The Belgian wizard has been linked with a move back to the Premier League, for Newcastle , having snubbed Chelsea. Reports suggest that Newcastle has offered €50m for the 31 year old.

Carlo Ancelotti, however, has ensured that Eden Hazard has a future at Real Madrid.

“I don’t have to give advice to Hazard. He has the character and experience to decide himself and by the way, the quality that both of them have could help us a lot.

“Only the first half of the season has gone. They(Hazard and Bale) have not had the opportunity to help the team due to the injuries they’ve had. Hopefully the second half of the season will be better.” said Ancelotti.

It will be interesting to see Eden Hazard back, as it is predicted he will start against Elche.

RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular