HomeNewsQueen Elizabeth II Dies: Who will be the Successor to the Royal...

Queen Elizabeth II Dies: Who will be the Successor to the Royal Monarch?

The world, and especially Britain, is mourning the death of Queen Elizabeth II, the monarch who reigned over the country for more than 70 years. The Queen died on Thursday at the age of 96 at Balmoral, shortly after the reports of her ill health had surfaced.

King Charles is now the new monarch of Britain following the death of his mother. While the Royal family is stuck in a moment of grief, there are a number of traditional steps that need to be followed for the coronation of the new King.

King Charles Becomes the new King at the age of 73

King Charles has become the new King of Britain. He is the oldest monarch to take the crown at the age of 73. His wife, Camilla, has become the Queen Consort. The King will be known as King Charles III.

King Charles held the title of the heir apparent to the throne for the longest time in the history of the British monarchy. He became the heir apparent at the age of three in 1952 when his mother became the Queen.

The throne has now been passed to King Charles, but he will be officially proclaimed the King within 24 hours of Queen Elizabeth’s death. The King is currently in Balmoral, where he rushed to be with his mother during her last moments on Thursday.

The ceremony takes place at St James’s Palace in London, in front of the Accession Council, which is made up of  a group of senior MPs, past and present, and peers – as well as some senior civil servants, Commonwealth high commissioners, and the Lord Mayor of London.

King Charles Releases a Statement

The King has now released a statement about the Queen’s death. He stated, “The death of my beloved mother, Her Majesty The Queen, is a moment of the greatest sadness for me and all members of my family. We mourn profoundly the passing of a cherished Sovereign and a much-loved mother.”

“I know her loss will be deeply felt throughout the country, the Realms and the Commonwealth, and by countless people around the world. During this period of mourning and change, my family and I will be comforted and sustained by our knowledge of the respect and deep affection in which The Queen was so widely held,” the statement read further.

King Charles in now the Head of the Commonwealth

Becoming the King has bestowed another title on King Charles, the Head of the Commonwealth, which is the association of 5 independent countries, 14 of which will consider him as the Head of state.

The 14 nations include Australia, Canada, the Bahamas, Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Grenada, Jamaica, St Christopher and Nevis, Papua New Guinea, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Tuvalu, New Zealand and the Solomon Islands.

The Coronation Ceremony

The new King will be formally crowned during the coronation ceremony. Although the King has already ascended the throne, his coronation ceremony need not be followed immediately. In Queen Elizabeth’s case, she ascended the throne in 1952, but her coronation took place a year later in 1953.

Traditionally, the ceremony is held in Westminster Abbey and is officiated by the Archbishop of Canterbury. At the end of the coronation, King Charles will be bestowed with St Edward’s Crown, making him the 40th monarch in history to wear the crown. The King will now take the coronation oath in front of the world.

Prince William is now the heir apparent who will ascend the throne after King Charles. He has also now inherited his father’s title, Duke of Cornwall. His wife, Catherine, will now be known as the Duchess of Cornwall.

A passionate writer who loves to cover Pop Culture, Celebs, Films and TV shows. When not writing, you can find me trekking, singing, and binge-watching.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular