HomeEntertainment74th DGA Awards Winners List as 'The Power of the Dog' Takes...

74th DGA Awards Winners List as ‘The Power of the Dog’ Takes Top Honor

Everyone knows that the Directors Guilds Awards pave the way for the Oscars. The 2022 DGA Awards were hosted at the Beverly Hilton yesterday and we have the list of the winners.

I remember the backlash Benedict Cumberbatch suffered a few days back because of his character. Remember Sam Elliott’s Power of the Dog whining?  Well, the hard work of the crew speaks verses.

Jane Champion’s The Power of the Dog was felicitated with the highest honor at yesterday’s DGA. The film was honored with the “Theatrical Feature Film Prize Award”, a top-most honor. However, other nominees like West Side Story, Dune, Licorice Pizza couldn’t make it.

About the Directors Guild Awards


This year’s prestigious DGA Awards were the 74th annual event wherein artists from diverse sectors got honored for their marvelous work. The Awards set a biometric for the Oscars as the traditional gospel goes.

The first Directors Guild Awards “Honorary Life Member” was issued to D.W.Griffith in 1938. He was an American film director and of the most influential figures in the history of motion pictures.

Top-most Honour

The Directors Guild of America Award for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Motion Pictures is the top-most honor in the competitive categories. FYI, The Colour Purple’s director Steven Spielberg is the most awarded and most nominated director for the said category.  in the history of DGA.

Now, Jane Champion has won the top-most honor for The Power of the Dog movie wherein Benedict Cumberbatch played the role of Phil, who struggles with his sexuality in an era where homosexuality is still taboo. The Western Psychological Drama which portrays Phil’s toxic masculinity is the picture of the year.

Full List of Winners


Here is the full list of winners from this year’s Directors Guild Awards:

Best Theatrical Feature Film Award (Top-most Honour)

Nominees: Paul Thomas Anderson “Licorice Pizza”, (MGM)Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast” (Focus Features), Steven Spielberg “West Side Story” (20th Century Studios), Jane Campion “The Power of the Dog” (Netflix), Denis Villeneuve, “Dune” (Warner Bros. Pictures)

Winner: Jane Campion “The Power of the Dog” (Netflix)


Documentary Feature

Nominees: Jessica Kingdon “Ascension” (MTV Documentary Films), Stanley Nelson “Attica” (Showtime), Raoul Peck “Exterminate All the Brutes” (HBO), Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson “Summer of Soul” (Searchlight), Elizabeth Chai Varsarhelyi & Jimmy Chin “The Rescue” (Searchlight)

Winner: Stanley Nelson “Attica” (Showtime)

First-Time Feature Director

Nominees: Maggie Gyllenhaal “The Lost Daughter” (Netflix), Rebecca Hall
“Passing” (Netflix), Tatiana Huezo “Prayers for the Stolen” (Netflix), Lin-Manuel Miranda
“Tick Tick Boom” (Netflix), Michael Sarnoski “Pig” (Neon), Emma Seligman “Shiva Baby” (Utopia)

Winner: Maggie Gyllenhaal “The Lost Daughter” (Netflix)

Drama Series

Nominees: Kevin Bray “Succession,” “Retired Janitors of Idaho” (HBO), Mark Mylod “Succession,” “All the Bells Say” (HBO), Andrij Parekh “Succession,” “What It Takes” (HBO), Robert Pulcini & Shari Springer Berman “Succession,” “Lion in the Meadow” (HBO), Lorena Scafaria “Succession,” “Too Much Birthday” (HBO)

Winner: Mark Mylod “Succession,” “All the Bells Say” (HBO),

Movies for Television and Limited Series

Nominees: Barry Jenkins “The Underground Railroad” (HBO), Barry Levinson
“Dopesick,” “First Bottle” (Hulu), Hiro Murai “Station Eleven,” “Wheel of Fire” (HBO Max), Danny Strong “Dopesick,” “The People vs. Purdue Pharma” (Hulu), Craig Zobel
“Mare of Easttown” (HBO)

Winner: Barry Jenkins “The Underground Railroad” (HBO)

Comedy Series

Nominees: Lucia Aniello “Hacks,” “There Is No Line” (HBO), MJ Delaney
“Ted Lasso,” “No Weddings and a Funeral” (Apple TV+), Erica Dunton “Ted Lasso,” “Rainbow” (Apple TV+), Sam Jones “Ted Lasso,” “Beard After Hours” (Apple TV+), Mike White “The White Lotus,” “Mysterious Monkeys” (HBO Max)

Winner: Lucia Aniello “Hacks,” “There Is No Line” (HBO)

Variety Talk/News/Sports (Specials)

Nominees: Ian Berger “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah’ Presents Jordan Klepper Fingers the Pulse — Into the Magaverse” (Comedy Central), Bo Burnham “Bo Burnham: Inside” (Netflix), Paul Dugdale “Adele: One Night Only” (CBS), Stan Lathan “Dave Chappelle: The Closer” (Netflix), Glenn P. Weiss “The 43rd Annual Kennedy Center Honors” (CBS)

Winner: Paul Dugdale “Adele: One Night Only” (CBS)

Variety Talk/News/Sports (Regularly Scheduled Programming)

Nominees: Paul G. Casey “Real Time With Bill Maher,” “Episode 1935: Fareed Zakaria, Chris Christie, Eric Adams” (HBO), Jim Hoskinson “The Late Show With Stephen Colbert,” “Episode 1105” (CBS), Don Roy King “Saturday Night Live,” “Keegan Michael-Key; Olivia Rodrigo” (NBC), David Paul Meyer, “The Daily Show With Trevor Noah,” “Episode 26112” (Comedy Central), Paul Pennolino & Christopher Werner “Last Week Tonight With John Oliver,” “Episode 830-Season Finale” (HBO)

Winner: Don Roy King “Saturday Night Live,” “Keegan Michael-Key; Olivia Rodrigo” (NBC),

Children’s Programs

Nominees: James Bobin “The Mysterious Benedict Society,” “A Bunch of Smart Orphans” (Disney+), Michael Lembeck “The J Team” (Paramount+), Phill Lewis “Head of the Class,” “Three More Years” (HBO Max), Smrithi Mundhra “Through Our Eyes,” “Shelter” (HBO Max), Jeff Wadlow “Are You Afraid of the Dark,” “The Tale of the Darkhouse” (Nickelodeon)

Winner: Smrithi Mundhra “Through Our Eyes,” “Shelter” (HBO Max)

Reality Programs

Nominees: Joseph Guidry “Full Bloom,” “Final Floral Face-Off” (HBO Max), Patrick McManus
“American Ninja Warrior,” “1304: Qualifiers 4” (NBC), Ramy Romany, “Making the Cut,” “Brand Statement” (Amazon), Ben Simms “Running Wild With Bear Grylls,” “Gina Carano in the Dolomites” (National Geographic), Adam Vetri “Getaway Driver,” “Electric Shock” (Discovery)

Winner: Adam Vetri “Getaway Driver,” “Electric Shock” (Discovery)


Nominees: Steve Ayson (MJZ) Anthem, Mattress Firm – Droga5, Kathryn Bigelow
(Smuggler), Hollywood In Your Pocket, iPhone 13 – Media Arts Lab, Ian Pons Jewell
(Reset), ECG, Apple Watch – Apple, Henry-Alex Rubin (Smuggler), Teenage Dream, Sandy Hook Promise – BBDO – New York, Bradford Young(Serial Pictures x Somesuch) Super. Human., Channel 4 Paralympics – 4Creative

Winner: Bradford Young (Serial Pictures x Somesuch) Super. Human., Channel 4 Paralympics – 4Creative

The 74th DGA Awards were hosted by Judd Apatow. He has previously hosted the 70th and the 77th Directors Guild Awards. This year’s awards witnessed immense talent under one roof. What are your thoughts on the winners? How do you feel about Jane Champion taking the highest honor for The Power of the Dogs?

I am Mallika Singh, a lawyer and writer by profession. Writing gives me a sense of freedom and independence. I am a keen observer and an ardent reader. When not at work, you can find me at the stable. Horse riding is another passion that keeps me going.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular