BeReal is one of the most trending social media apps of this year. It asks users to post their candid pictures displaying reality every day. However, some of them can be a bit unsatisfying. In that case, you must know how to delete a post or memory on BeReal.
BeReal became popular as the anti-Instagram app where people can only share real, unedited, and unfiltered snaps of their lives. You need to share two pictures daily, captured simultaneously with the front and the rear cameras, and a two-minute timer keeps ticking.
However, BeReal doesn’t provide an easy option to delete your posts if you think they shouldn’t be visible to your friends. You must know the special procedure to remove them and you can only delete your post once a day.
How to delete a post on the BeReal iOS app?
BeReal allows you to delete your post once a day. However, the next one you post can’t be deleted. Follow these steps to delete a post on the BeReal iPhone app:
- Launch the BeReal app and go to the recently shared post.
- Now tap on the “…” (dots) just next to the caption text (or the Add a Caption prompt) and above the timestamp.
- The information panel will open up where you can see the number of comments, realmojis, retakes, and the location of the shot.
- Here, tap on “Options.”
- Next, tap on “Delete my BeReal.”
- Next, choose a reason why you are deleting the post in the survey that pops up.
- Tap on “Yes, I’m sure” after selecting your response.
- Finally, tap on “Delete.”
Once you have answered the survey, your post will be deleted from the BeReal app. The app will then ask you to upload a “late post” as if you haven’t posted today. Remember that you can’t delete your next one. Make sure you capture the perfect angles.
How to delete a post on the BeReal Android app?
Android users can also delete posts that they don’t like on BeReal. However, the process is a bit different. On Android devices, you need to launch the BeReal app and then go to your recent post.
After that, you need to tap on the dot menu present in the top-right corner of the BeReal.
From here, the process is similar. Just tap on “Options” and select “Delete My BeReal.” You will also have to answer the survey asking why you’re deleting the post.
Once you have deleted a BeReal, it won’t be visible to your friends on the feed. You can take another one to let your friends know what you are up to. You won’t be able to delete it for the rest of the day though.
BeReal was also experiencing a number of issues lately that prevented users from posting and deleting their posts. If your app is stuck in between the procedure, try closing it and then re-launching it.
How to Delete a Memory on BeReal?
All your BeReal posts from the past are saved in your Memories just like Snapchat does and Instagram saves them in Archive. It is a private gallery that only you can view and access. None of your friends will be able to see what’s here.
Still, if you wish to clear any of the memories on BeReal, there’s a procedure available for that. Follow these steps:
- Launch the BeReal app.
- Tap on your profile icon from the upper right corner of the main feed.
- Switch to the calendar view and you can see all the BeReal pictures you have posted.
- Just select any individual Memory and open the three-dot menu.
- After that, tap on “Delete from Memories.”
This will clear the picture from BeReal’s database. You can also delete your recent pictures from your memories. However, the ones you delete from here can’t be recovered.
You can also Deactivate Memory on BeReal
You can stop the BeReal app from saving your pictures to Memory by going to your profile, opening the three-dot menu, choosing Memories, and then tapping on “Deactivate Memories.”
This will also delete all your existing memories on BeReal. Remember that you can’t access the posts and memories you have deleted on BeReal afterward.
That’s how you delete a post or memory on the BeReal app.