HomeTechnologyHow to Turn Off Profile Views History on TikTok?

How to Turn Off Profile Views History on TikTok?

TikTok has recently brought back the Profile Views History feature to the app, after cutting it off around mid-2020. Fortunately, it is an optional feature. So, you can turn it on and off. Find out how to turn off Profile Views History on TikTok, and then turn it back on.

Profile Views History is a privacy feature on TikTok that lets the users know who viewed their profile recently. This is useful to stay protected from stalkers and other threats but has always faced criticism due to being an optional feature.

The re-introduction of the feature has made a great base of TikTok users freak out that they can’t stalk their favorite creators now as they’ll know who has been viewing their profile. However, turning off the feature can save you from that.

TikTok saves the Profile View History of a profile for the past 30 days. It also sends a notification every time a user visits your profile. Although you must keep the feature enabled to access these functionalities.

How to Turn off Profile Views History on TikTok?

The process to turn off Profile Views History on TikTok is very simple and straightforward. Follow these steps to know what you have to do:

  1. Launch the TikTok app and tap on the Profile icon from the bottom right corner.
  2. Now tap on the “Eye icon” present near the three bars on the top right corner.
  3. Next, tap on the “Gear” icon present in the top right corner.
  4. Here, turn the toggle switch for Profile View History to “Off.”
  5. Finally, tap on cross to close the settings window.

You have now turned off Profile Views History on TikTok. You can also find this feature in the “Privacy” section by going to “Settings and Privacy.” From there, you can follow the similar steps available above.

What Happens when you Disable Profile Views History on TikTok?

When you disable Profile Views History on TikTok, the app will not tell you who is visiting your profile and when. You may consider it a disadvantage but the app also doesn’t tell other people when you visit their profile when the feature is turned off.

This is the biggest advantage of disabling the feature as you can once again secretly visit and stalk people on TikTok to pass your time. The people whom you view won’t know that you’ve been watching them secretly.

How to Turn on Profile Views History on TikTok?

In case you change your mind and decide you want to know who is visiting and viewing your profile, you can turn on Profile Views History on TikTok. Follow these steps to learn how to do that:

  1. Launch the TikTok app and tap on the Profile icon from the bottom right corner.
  2. Now tap on the “Eye icon” present near the three bars on the top right corner.
  3. A window will pop up explaining the feature, scroll down and tap on “Turn on.”
  4. TikTok will then redirect you to a page where you can see the visitors to your profile in the past 30 days.

That’s it. You have now turned on Profile Views History on TikTok.

What happens when you Enable Profile Views History on TikTok?

When you turn on Profile Views History on TikTok, the app will inform you about everyone who visits your profile in the past 30 days (except the users who have Profile Views History feature disabled).

You will also get a notification in the inbox stating that “xxx viewed your profile” where “xxx” denotes the username of the TikTok user. You will always know when someone keeps checking up on your TikTok profile.

However, the major con of the feature is that it also tells other TikTok users when you visit or view their profiles. Thus, the other people will also know that you have been checking up on their profiles recently.

Is Profile Views History Feature Available for Everyone?

Previously, TikTok had the Profile Views History feature available for everyone, and people used to find out who viewed their profiles. However, TikTok scrapped the feature in mid-2020 silently. The exact reason for the step is unknown even at this time.

Now, TikTok is reintroducing the controversial feature once again as Profile Views History has become available for a number of TikTok users. Currently, it is not available for everyone and is only available for a limited number of users.

Profile Views History on TikTok also has other limitations stating you must be 16 years of age or older and have fewer than 5,000 followers to have access to this feature. If you have more followers, then this feature won’t be available for you.

It is expected that TikTok is experimenting with the feature and Profile Views History will be available for everyone, and in every region, by the end of this year. Just keep using the latest version of the TikTok app and you will soon receive the feature, in case it is not available yet.

Should the users keep this feature turned on or off? What do you think? Let us know via the comments.

Saquib Hashmi
A simple Netizen on a hunt for stories worth sharing. Presenting them here in a spicy form. I hope they offer you value and knowledge.
RELATED ARTICLES

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular