HomeLatestKorean Music Awards 2022: How to Watch Live, Start Time, Nominees, Lineup

Korean Music Awards 2022: How to Watch Live, Start Time, Nominees, Lineup

Korean Music Awards 2022 (KMA 2022) is the annual ceremony to honor artists organized by the Korea Creative Content Agency (KCCA) in association with the Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism. Find out how to watch Korean Music Awards 2022 live, what is the start time, who are the nominees, and the scheduled lineup for the event.

K-pop fans worldwide are hyped up as the 19th Annual KMA is about to acknowledge talented artistic creations in the country. While other awards rely on judges or fan votes, Korean Music Awards honor artists purely based on their talent.

On February 9, 2022, the Korean Music Awards revealed the nominations for 2022. The nominees include massive stars like BTS, IU, AKMU, aespa, TXT, SHINee, Red Velvet’s Wendy BoA, and more.

The live ceremony could feature performances from world popular artists including BTS, Kim Hyun Chul, AKMU, IU, and Lee Mu Jin.

Korean Music Awards 2022: Date, Start Time, and Venue

First held in 2004, the Korean Music Awards is the annual South Korean music awards show that honors and celebrates both mainstream and underground musical artists from a vast variety of genres. The KMA distributes awards based on the recommendations of a panel of judges consisting of industry veterans.

The 19th Korean Music Awards will take place on Tuesday, March 1, 2022, at  6 PM KST/ 4 AM ET/ 1 AM PT/ 9 AM GMT/ 6.30 PM ACST/ 2.30 PM IST.

The prestigious ceremony will be held at the Nodeul Live House in Nodeulseom, Seoul. Korean Music Awards Selection Committee will host the event.

How to Watch Korean Music Awards 2022 Live?

K-Pop fans worldwide should be excited as the Korean Music Awards 2022 will be live-streamed on KMA’S YouTube channel. You can watch the live stream on any device including your television, PC, mobile, or any other device.

The live broadcast will begin at the time mentioned above. You can set a reminder to not miss the performance of your favorite artists and bands.

The lineup for the Korean Music Awards 2022

The award show ceremony will feature live performances from BTS, IU, AKMU, aespa, TXT, SHINee, Kim Hyun Chul, Lee Mu Jin, and various other artists.

Both mainstream and underground music artists from different genres will present their performances. You can watch them live on YouTube.

Korean Music Awards 2022: List of Nominees

The nominees for Korean Music Awards 2022 were on Feb 9, 2022. Lang Lee, the widely famous folk singer, got the most nominations with six to her name. Aespa, IU, and AKMU followed her with four nominations. BTS is nominated for the fifth consecutive year this time.

Here is the complete list of all nominees among different categories for the 19th Korean Music Awards 2022:

Album of the Year

  • AKMU – ‘Next Episode’
  • Kim Hyun-chul – ‘City Breeze & Love Song’
  • IU – ‘Lilac’
  • Lang Lee – ‘There Is A Wolf’
  • Cheon Yongseong – ‘Drowned’

Song of the Year

  • aespa – ‘Next Level’
  • AKMU – ‘NAKKA’ ft IU
  • BTS – ‘Butter’
  • Lang Lee – ‘There Is A Wolf’
  • Lee Mujin – ‘Traffic Light’

Musician of the Year

  • Kim Hyun-chul
  • The Volunteers
  • BTS
  • IU
  • Lang Lee

Rookie of the Year

  • aespa
  • Lee Mujin
  • Haepaary

Best K-pop Song

  • BTS – ‘Butter’
  • STAYC – ‘ASAP’
  • TXT – ‘0X1=Lovesong’ ft Seori
  • aespa – ‘Next Level’
  • Weeekly – ‘After School’

Best K-pop Album

  • Boa – ‘Better’
  • CL – ‘Alpha’
  • SHINee – ‘Atlantis’
  • Chungha – ‘Querencia’
  • aespa – ‘Savage’

Best R&B and Soul Song

  • Hiko – ‘After Time’ ft George
  • THAMA – ‘Blessed’ ft GSoul
  • Yura – ‘Mimi’
  • Lee Hi – ‘Head, Shoulder, Knee, Feet’ ft Wonstein
  • Sumin and Slom – ‘A difficult song’

Best R&B and Soul Album

  • Download (Dvwn) – ‘It’s not your fault’
  • Sumin and Slom – ‘Miniseries’
  • Mind Combined – ‘Circle’
  • Thama – ‘Don’t Die Colors’
  • Sogumm – ‘Precious’
  • Judd – ‘AMP’

Best Pop Song

  • IU – ‘Lilac’
  • AKMU – ‘NAKKA’ ft IU
  • Lee Seunghwan and Seonwoo Jungah – ‘How’
  • Red Velvet’s Wendy – ‘When this rain stops’
  • Lee Mujin – ‘Traffic Light’

Best Pop Album

  • IU – ‘Lilac’
  • Kim Hyun-chul – ‘City Breeze & Love Song’
  • Lee Ion – ‘Fragile’
  • AKMU – ‘Next Episode’
  • Stop ceremony – ‘Night driving’

Best Rap and Hip-Hop Song

  • Dunmills – ‘The Great Life’ ft Northfacegawd and Uneducated Kid
  • Bill Stax – ‘420 Flow’ ft Lobonabeat!
  • Loss – ‘Blue Lemonade’ ft Hwaji
  • Changmo – ‘Taeji’
  • SINCE – ‘Spring Rain’ ft Rakon

Best Rap and Hip-Hop Album

  • Unofficialboyy and Haifhaif – ‘Net trap, waiting for launch, capture’
  • Changmo – ‘Underground Rockstar’
  • Mild beats – ‘Fragment’
  • Loss – ‘Skandalouz’
  • Choi Lb – ‘Independent Music’

Best Rock Song

  • Wabi King – ‘Rock & Roll’ ft Shun Young
  • Radio operator – ‘Lie’
  • Noise emission – ‘Dance’
  • Badlamb – ‘Moment at noon’

Best Rock Album

  • Radio Operator – ‘Aeons of Psy-Key’
  • Noise emission – ‘Joy, flower’
  • Atom Music Heart – ‘Refugeeism’
  • Trap – ‘Trap’
  • Outside – ‘Chilga Sal’

Best Modern Rock Song

  • Kim Geun-dol – ‘Let’s dance on the rainy street’
  • Black leaves – ‘Book, hello!’
  • The Volunteers – ‘Let Me Go!’
  • Trap – ‘One corner’
  • More wings – ‘Twenty’
  • Silica Gel – ‘Desert Eagle’

Best Modern Rock Album

  • Bosu-dong cooler – ‘Sand’
  • More wings – ‘Boundary between hope and despair’
  • The Volunteers – ‘The Volunteers’
  • Yang Chang-geun – ‘Wave’
  • Jannabi – ‘Land of Fantasy’

Best Folk Song

  • Lang Lee – ‘The Generation of Tribulation’
  • Cheon Yongseong – ‘Barley Tea’ ft Kang Mal-geum
  • Jang Pil-soon – ‘Petrico’
  • Lang Lee – ‘There Is A Wolf’
  • Lee Jooyoung – ‘It’s Snowing’ ft Lee Arip

Best Folk Album

  • Lang Lee – ‘There Is A Wolf’
  • All tickets – ‘Cosmos’
  • Jang Pil-soon – ‘Petrico’
  • Lee Jooyoung – ‘Ballade’
  • Cheon Yong-seong – ‘Drowned’

Best Metal and Hardcore Album

  • Slant – ‘1st house’
  • Crux – ‘Who Defines What’s Divine’
  • AMBROXIAK – ‘Detritus of Elysian Creation’
  • Hammering – ‘Libera Me’
  • Agnes – ‘Hegemony Shift’
  • Spit on my tomb – ‘Necrosis’

Best Jazz – Vocal Album

  • Golden Swing Band – ‘Golden Rules’
  • Lee Booyoung – ‘Love, like a song’
  • Kim Joo-hwan – ‘My Funny Valentine’
  • Korea Jazz Guard – ‘We all started in a jazz club’
  • Maria Kim – ‘With Strings: Dream of You’

Best Jazz – Performed Album

  • Lee Jiyeon – ‘Blue Flower’
  • Lee Jihye Orchestra – ‘Daring Mind’
  • Nam Yoo-sun – ‘Things we lost and found’
  • New box circle – ‘Pseudo science’
  • Lee Yong-seok – ‘The New Old One’

Best Electronic Song

  • Sun Moon – ‘Tom’
  • Jellyfish – Go to Gyeongpodae’
  • ‘Doil city’ – ‘Forest Illumination’
  • Company – ‘Song of Hope Baby’
  • Kirara – ‘HRT’

Best Electronic Album

  • Net Gala – ‘Shin Wave’
  • Jellyfish – ‘Born by gorgeousness’
  • Haihm – ‘Nowhere’
  • Tuning – ‘Earwitness’
  • Lee Soo-ho – ‘Monika’

This year’s show is going to be one star-studded affair. The online fans will attract thousands of viewers jamming to the catchy tunes of K-Pop. Who do you think will be winning this time? Let your opinions show using the comment box.

Saquib Hashmi
A simple Netizen on a hunt for stories worth sharing. Presenting them here in a spicy form. I hope they offer you value and knowledge.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular