HomeEntertainmentNaruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip

Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip

Naruto is a series that has taken anime to a different league. The manga created by Masashi Kishimoto has different perspectives on life and way of seeing things as well. The anime is often compared to a piece of entertainment, but it ends with giving a great moral lesson at the end of each arc. Though the show seems very delightful for the immature brain, it gives deep life lessons to the adults as well.

Naruto Series Overview

Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip
Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip

But today we are focussing on the filler lists, which we can skip to follow the main story arc. The Naruto series is primarily divided into three titles. The first one is “Naruto” which came out on 3rd October 2002 in the Japanese language and followed into an almost two-decades-long series.

“Naruto” finished airing on 8th February 2007 in Japan. This part only focuses on Naruto’s journey’s first part, which later continued to “Naruto: Shippuden”. Shippuden is a much heavier and more complex arc compared to the first one. The show has limitless characters, and each arc creates more mysteries and draws the fans’ attention more.

Naruto’s Journey in Two-Decades-Long Series

Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip
Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip

Even though Naruto’s journey as a shounen hero has ended by unifying all the nations and becoming Hokage, his story has not ended. Now, his son, Boruto has taken over the role of shounen hero in the anime and plays the part of protagonist in Boruto: Naruto Next Generations. The Boruto series is still ongoing and currently covering Sasuke’s arc now.

Both “Naruto” and “Naruto: Shippuden” have filler episodes. But those stories are not completely unrelatable to the main plot. Sometimes these episodes deliver the stories of the events that happened during the time skips of the main plot. Sometimes, it also focuses on the side characters as well as the origin of any villain or hero.

So, today, we are going to discuss those episodes that viewers may skip. But we do not recommend skipping these episodes. Because these stories also make the Naruto series greater with its stunning storylines.

Naruto Filler Episodes List

Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip
Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip

The introduction to the plot of the character happens in Naruto who felt alienation from his Ninja village Konoha for the Nine-tailed Fox which is sealed within him.

The official synopsis on Crunchyroll suggests: “The Village Hidden in the Leaves is home to the stealthiest ninja. But twelve years earlier, a fearsome Nine-tailed Fox terrorized the village before it was subdued and its spirit sealed within the body of a baby boy.”

Among all the 220 episodes in 5 seasons, 93 episodes are filler episodes. This means 42% of the series has filler Episodes.

Naruto Filler Episdoes Season Story Arc
Episode – 26 1 Chunin Exams arc
Episode – 97 2 Search for Tsunade arc
Episode – 101 3 Trying to Uncover Kakashi’s Face
Episodes 102–106 3 Land of Tea Escort Mission arc
Episodes 136–141 3 Land of Rice Fields Investigations arc
Episodes 142-147 4 The Mizuki Tracking Mission
Episodes 148-151 4 The Bikochu Search Mission
Episodes 152-157 4 The Kurosuki Family Removal Mission
Episodes 159-160 4 The Gosunkugi Capture Mission
Episodes 162-167 4 The Cursed Warrior Extermination Mission
Episodes 169-173 4 The Kaima Capture Mission
Episode 174 4 Daimyo Heir Escort Mission
Episodes 175-176 4 The Buried Gold Excavation Mission
Episode 177 4 Stopping the Courier Ninja
Episodes 178-183 4 The Star Guard Mission
Episodes 184-186 5 Various One-Off Episodes
Episodes 187-191 5 The Peddlers Escort Mission
Episodes 195-196 5 The Third Great Beast Arc
Episodes 197-201 5 The Konoha Plans Recapture Mission
Episode 202 5 The Best Battles During The Sasuke Recovery Mission
Episodes 203-207 5 The Yakumo Kurama Rescue Mission
Episode 208 5 Prized Artifact Escort Mission
Episodes 209-212 5 The Gantetsu Escort Mission
Episodes 213-215 5 The Menma Memory Search Mission
Episodes 216-220 5 The Sunagakure Support Mission


Filler Episodes List of Naruto: Shippuden

Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip
Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip

Naruto’s adolescent days and his journey to becoming the most important Ninja in Shinobi world follow in Naruto: Shippuden.

The Crunchyroll synopsis suggests: “Naruto Uzumaki wants to be the best ninja in the land. He’s done well so far, but with the looming danger posed by the mysterious Akatsuki organization, Naruto knows he must train harder than ever and leaves his village for intense exercises that will push him to his limits.”

As Shippuden has 500 episodes, the number of filler episodes is astronomical as well.

Naruto Shippuden Episdoes Season Story Arc
57–71 3 Twelve Guardian Ninja arc
89–112 5 Three Tails’ Appearance arc
119–120 6 Kakashi Gaiden arc
144–151 7 Six-Tails Unleashed arc
170–171 8 Big Quest for Fourth Hokage’s Legacy
176–196 9 Past arc: Locus of Konoha
223–242 11 Paradise Life on a Boat arc
257–260 12
272 12 Fourth Shinobi World War: Confrontation arc
280–281 13 Fourth Shinobi World War: Confrontation arc
284–289 13 Fourth Shinobi World War: Confrontation arc
300–317 14 Fourth Shinobi World War: Confrontation arc
319–320 14 Fourth Shinobi World War: Confrontation arc
347-348 15
349–361 16 Kakashi’s Anbu Arc: The Shinobi That Lives in the Darkness
376–377 18
388–390 18 Birth of ten-Tails’ Jinchuriki arc
394–413 19 In Naruto’s Footsteps: The Friends’ Paths
416 20
422–423 20 Birth of ten-Tails’ Jinchuriki arc
427–431 20 Birth of ten-Tails’ Jinchuriki
432–450 20 Jiraiya Shinobi Handbook: The Tale of Naruto the Hero
451–458 20 Itachi Shinden Book: Light and Darkness arcs
469 20
480–483 21 Childhood Arc
484-488 21 Sasuke Shinden: Book of Sunrise
489-493 21 Shikamaru Hiden: A Cloud Drifting In Silent Darkness
494-500 21 Konoha Hiden: The Perfect Day for a Wedding


Why Are Filler Episodes Made?

Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip
Naruto: Full List of Filler Episodes the Viewers May Skip

Naruto is one of the longest-running anime series, but these many filler episodes make the fans feel bored. However, these episodes are very necessary to catch up to the manga’s special arcs or the side arcs.

Anime studios generally make these episodes to add length to the series and also for holding the slots for broadcasting. As the shows run longer, the profit also increases as well.

Skipping these episodes does not cause that much issue to understand the series. But some of the filler episodes are not only enjoyable to watch but also give away some dimensions to the anime’s characters. Most of these episodes have a significant effect on the plot. Hardcore Naruto fans enjoy watching those. All the episodes of Naruto are available on Crunchyroll for streaming to global audiences.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular